Apple ME323LL/A User Manual

Page of 162
 
Chapter  5    
Phone 
47
Emergency calls
Make an emergency call when iPhone is locked. On the Enter Passcode screen, tap Emergency 
Call (to dial 911 in the U.S., for example).
Important:  
You can use iPhone to make an emergency call in many locations, provided that 
cellular service is available, but you should not rely on it for emergencies. Some cellular networks 
may not accept an emergency call from iPhone if iPhone is not activated, if iPhone is not 
compatible with or configured to operate on a particular cellular network, or (when applicable) if 
iPhone does not have a SIM card or if the SIM card is PIN-locked.
In the U.S., location information (if available) is provided to emergency service providers when 
you dial 911.
With CDMA, when an emergency call ends, iPhone enters emergency call mode for a few minutes 
to allow a call back from emergency services. During this time, data transmission and text 
messages are blocked. 
Exit emergency call mode (CDMA). Do one of the following:
 
Tap the Back button.
 
Press the Sleep/Wake button or the Home button.
 
Use the keypad to dial a non-emergency number.
Visual voicemail
Visual voicemail lets you see a list of your messages and choose which one to listen to or delete, 
without having to wade through all of them. A badge on the Voicemail icon tells you how many 
unheard messages you have. The first time you tap Voicemail, you’re prompted to create a 
voicemail password and record your voicemail greeting.
Listen to a voicemail message. Tap Voicemail, then tap a message. To listen again, select the 
message and tap  . If visual voicemail isn’t available with your service, tap Voicemail and follow 
the voice prompts.
Drag the playhead 
to skip to any point 
in a message.
Drag the playhead 
to skip to any point 
in a message.
Unheard messages
Unheard messages
Play/pause
Play/pause
Contact info
Contact info
Speakerphone
(Audio, when a 
Bluetooth device is 
connected. Tap to 
choose audio output.)
Speakerphone
(Audio, when a 
Bluetooth device is 
connected. Tap to 
choose audio output.)
Return the call.
Return the call.
Messages are saved until you delete them or your carrier erases them. 
Delete a message. Swipe or tap the message, then tap Delete.
Note:  In some areas, deleted messages may be permanently erased by your carrier.
downloadlike
ArtboardArtboardArtboard
Report Bug